First!

11May10

Several hours ago I finished my first year of graduate school. Everyone said it would by fly by and to my great surprise, it did. And now that I’m on vacation, I’m looking forward to applying my brain cells (once they regenerate) to all the books that I acquired over the school year but have not had a chance to tackle. So, while I’m sure I’m forgetting things, let’s get the blog rolling with

SUMMER READING 2010

Butler, J. (1990). Gender trouble. New York: Routledge.

Coontz, S. (1992). The way we never were: American families and the nostalgia trap. New York: Basic Books.

Delany, S. (1976). Trouble on Triton. Middletown: Wesleyan University Press.

Delany, S. (1993). The motion of light in water: Sex and science fiction writing in the East Village. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press.

Diaz, J. (2007). The brief wonderful life of Oscar Wao. New York: Penguin.

Dick, P. (1974). Flow my tears, the policeman said. New York: Vintage.

Doud, P. (2010). The hunt for the eye of Ogin. Berkeley: North Atlantic Books.

Foucault, M. (1978). The history of sexuality: An introduction. New York: Vintage.

Gann, K. (2010). No such thing as silence: John Cage’s 4’33”. New Haven: Yale University Press.

Horney, K. (1945). Our inner conflicts: A constructive theory of neurosis. New York: W.W. Norton.

Jackson, S. (1954). The bird’s nest. New York: Popular Library.

Jackson, S. (1998). Just an ordinary day. New York: Bantam.

Jung, C.G. (1989). Aspects of the masculine. Princeton: Bollingen.

Kottler, J. (2010). On becoming a therapist. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.

Lasky, D. (2010). Black life. Seattle: Wave Books.

Miller, T. and Pramas, C. (2000). Ork! the roleplaying game. Renton, WA: Green Ronin.

Miller, W. (1959). A canticle for Leibowitz. New York: Eos.

Murphy, R. (2010). The redcoats. San Francisco: Krupskaya.

Olin, J. (2010). Hold tight: The Truck Darling poems. New York: Hanging Loose.

Roach, M. (2008). Bonk: The curious coupling of science and sex. New York: W.W. Norton.

Singer, J. (1972). Boundaries of the soul: The practice of Jung’s psychology. New York: Anchor Books.

Stephenson, N. (2003). Quicksilver. New York: HarperCollins.

Thomas, D.M. (1994). Eating Pavlova. New York: Carroll & Graf.

I’m sure I won’t read all of these, and I’m sure I’ll be reading a lot of other things, but it’s somewhere to start. As I read I’ll post excerpts I find pleasing or provocative.

But not tonight, because tonight I have Chinese food and last night’s LOST.

8 Responses to “First!”

  1. 1 David

    Congratulations on completing your first year of graduate school!! Now back to the writing of my last paper…

  2. Thanks, David! Let’s be sure to get together over the summer. And good luck finishing!

  3. 3 Chris

    Funny, tonight I had Indian food and last night’s LOST.

  4. RZO, what’d you think of LOST?

  5. 5 Alex

    I must check out “The Motion of Light in Water.” Never heard of it, but it sounds right up my alley and certainly looks at to of my favorite subjects together.

    “Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said” is wonderful — you’ll love it. Have you read the VALIS trilogy yet? The material definitely dates, but the prosemanship is just mindbendingly cool.

  6. 6 Alex

    “To” = “two.” Drunken posting on reading lists is never a good idea.

  7. I read a bit of it a few months back, but had to put it down due to school. It’s pretty amazing. Right up front, Delany clearly demonstrates how unreliable a narrator he is, and it goes from there.

    Haven’t read VALIS yet. Every time I read Dick I think “Oh, I’m going to have to go read more of this right now” but by the time I’m done with the book I have to take like six months off to scrub the crazy off my brain.


  1. 1 Well, well « In the chamber of the errant tiger

Leave a Reply

